English Pen logo

An auction at
Sothebys Logo
21st May 2013
In support of
English Pen Logo

Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes:
Julian Barnes

Julian  Barnes won the Man Booker Prize for his book The Sense of an Ending, and three of his earlier books have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize: Flaubert's Parrot, England, England, and Arthur & George.He has also written crime fiction under the pseudonym Dan Kavanagh (his late wife's surname). In addition to novels, Barnes has published collections of essays and short stories. He was selected as the recipient of the 2011 David Cohen Prize for Literature.

Barnes has also won several literary prizes in France, including the Prix Médicis for Flaubert's Parrot and the Prix Femina for Talking It Over. Previously an Officier of L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2004 he became a Commandeur of L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. His honors also include the Somerset Maugham Award, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Shakespeare Prize, the San Clemente literary prize, and the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He received the Europese Literatuurprijs in 2012.

blue swish