English Pen logo

An auction at
Sothebys Logo
21st May 2013
In support of
English Pen Logo

Graham Swift

Graham Swift:
Graham Swift

Graham Swift was born in 1949 and is the author of nine novels. He is the recipient of many awards for his fiction, including the bi-annual Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize for Shuttlecock; the Guardian Fiction Prize for Waterland; and in 1996, the Booker Prize for Fiction for Last Orders. Two of his novels have been made into films: Waterland, starring Jeremy Irons, and, more recently, Last Orders starring Michael Caine, Helen Mirren, Bob Hoskins and Tom Courtenay. His other novels are The Sweet-Shop Owner, Out of this World, Ever After, which won the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger, The Light of Day and Tomorrow. He has also published a collection of short stories, Learning to Swim and co-edited (with David Profumo) The Magic Wheel: An Anthology of Fishing in Literature. His work has appeared in twenty-nine languages. 

blue swish